Sunday, December 21, 2014

12 MPSPC teachers dismissed

Twelve faculty members of Mountain Province State Polytechnic College were ordered dismissed from government service with forfeiture of benefits for their involvement in protest actions that disrupted the operation of the school in 2011.

The protests also led to the involuntary resignation of former MPSPC president Nieves Dacyon, temporary stoppage of work and classes, and to insubordination and conduct prejudicial to public service.

Ordered dismissed in the 46-page decision by the Civil Service Commission regional office were Dan Evert Sokoken Sr., Dario Guinayen, Daniela Chumacog, Terrence Lief Fang-asan, Peter Puma-at, Brueckner Aswigue, Eric Fulangen, Jayson Omaweng, Charlie Wrakan Engngeg, Nellie Diaz, Beverly Ann Chaokas, and Angelita Bayle.

The faculty members were meted the maximum penalty of dismissal with cancellation of eligibility, forfeiture of retirement benefits, perpetual disqualification from holding public office, and from taking any civil examination.

The CSC-CAR order said the teachers were found guilty of grave misconduct for their involvement in mass protest actions held at the MPSPC campus in Bontoc from June 28, 2011 to July 1, 2011.

“As government employees, the teachers were prohibited from engaging in strikes, mass leaves, walkouts, and other forms of mass action that will lead in the temporary stoppage or disruption of public service,” according to the CSC decision.

The teachers were also found guilty of insubordination and conduct prejudicial to the best interest of the service for defying a lawful order from then MPSPC officer-in-charge Elpedio Marrero Jr. when he instructed them to hold regular classes because the sit-down strike they planned to stage on June 28, 2011 was illegal.

Also on the same date, then MPSPC trustee member Juan Dicang tried to intercede and asked the  faculty members not to proceed with the strike, but to no avail.

On July 1, 2011 Dacyon was forced to sign a prepared resignation letter before she would be allowed out of her office and the campus.

Respondents’ lead counsel, Milton Balagtey, said in a phone interview the order is not yet final and executory as they will file a motion for with the CSC central office.

He added the CSC-CAR order will not also be enforced while the appeal is being heard.

Sokoken added they are in contact with their lawyers to explore other legal remedies.

Dacyon, who was represented by the Sanidad and Villanueva Law Offices before the CSC-CAR, was subsequently upheld and recognized by the Commission on Higher Education and the Board of Trustees of MPSPC, as the rightful president of the school.

CHED also condemned the mass protests actions and intimidation exerted on Dacyon for her to resign.

Dacyon is currently the president of Apayao State College.

The CSC-CAR order was signed by Regional Director Marilyn Taldo.

Source: CSC sacks 12 MPSPC teachers in 2011 row 

No comments: