Thursday, March 27, 2014

12 Summer Destinations in the Philippines

March is also the month of summer. It's summer time so it is good to know 12 destinations that can be visited in the Philippines.
  1. Calaguas Island (Camarines Norte) - a group of islands in Camarines Norte that includes the major islands of Tinaga Island and Guintinua Island, the minor Maculabo Island, as well as several other minor islands. Calaguas Island is dubbed as "The New White Sand Adventure in Bicol". Website: and
  2. Batanes - the smallest province located in the region of Cagayan Valley and located in the northernmost part of the Philippines. Batanes is dubbed as "Home of the Winds". Website:
  3. Nagsasa Cove, Zambales - Zambales has many coves that can be visited and the most popular among them are Anawangin Cove, Capones Island and Camara Island. But very few people have seen and known about Nagsasa Cove.  Campers can also fall in love with the beauty of Nagsasa Cove if they have learned to love the beauty and serenity of Anawangin Cove. Zambales was recorded in the Guinness Book of Records as having the "sweetest mangoes in the world" and the Mango Festival is held in the provincial capital in Iba every April. Zambales is dubbed "Home to the Famous Crystal Beach Surf" in the town of San Narciso and also known as the "Surfing Paradise nearest Manila". Website:
  4. Coron, Palawan - a wedge-shaped limestone island, with mangrove forests covering few of its coastal areas, in Palawan. It has seven lakes but only 2 lakes are open to the public, famous of which is the nationally-acclaimed cleanest lake in the Philippines, the Kayangan Lake and also Barracuda Lake. The aquatic views from the sunken Japanese warships off Coron Island are listed in Forbes Traveler Magazine’s top 10 best scuba diving sites in the world. Coron is known for Barracuda Lake which is dubbed as “The Craziest Dive Site in the Philippines”. Website:
  5. El Nido, Palawan - a first class municipality and managed resource protected area in the province of Palawan. It is about 420 kilometres southwest of Manila, and about 238 kilometres northeast of Puerto Princesa which is the capital of Palawan. El Nido is dubbed as "The Last Ecological Frontier of the Philippines". Website:
  6. Tabuk, Kalinga - a landlocked province in the Cordillera Administrative Region of Luzon. Its capital is Tabuk and borders Mountain Province to the south, Abra to the west, Isabela to the east, Cagayan to the northeast, and Apayao to the north. Kalinga is dubbed as “Valley of Gamonangs”. Website:
  7. Siquijor - an island province located in the Central Visayas region. White sand beaches make up most of the 102-kilometer coastline of Siquijor. Siquijor is dubbed as "The Island of the Black Magic". Website: and
  8. Romblon - an island province located in the MIMAROPA region and was formerly called "Lomlon" or "Domblon" It lies south of Marinduque and Quezon, east of Mindoro, north of Aklan and Capiz, and west of Masbate.  Romblon is dubbed as "Marble Country" Website: and
  9. Bohol - home of the famous Chocolate Hills. The second smallest primate, Philippine Tarsier, is indigenous to the island. Bohol is the tenth largest island of the Philippines. Bohol is dubbed as "Cave Country" and "God’s Little Paradise". Website: and
  10. Baguio City - the lone Philippine destination in the 2011 TripAdvisor Traveler's Choice Destinations Awards, Asia category, with the city being among the top 25 destinations in Asia. Tourism is one of the city's main source of income primarily because of Baguio's weather and history. During summer, especially during Holy Week, tourists from all over the country flock to the city which doubles the city's population. There are more than 80 hotels, inns and transient houses that can accommodate tourists. The famous Panagbenga Festival is celebrated during the month of February. Baguio City is dubbed as "Summer Capital of the Philippines" and "City of Pines". Website:
  11. Apo Reef Island, Mindoro Occidental - known to be the world's 2nd largest contiguous coral reef system encompassing 34 square kilometers within the waters of Occidental Mindoro. The reef and its surrounding waters are administered as a National Park as part of the Apo Reef Natural Park project. Occidental Mindoro is dubbed as "Marine Wonderland" while Apo Reef is dubbed as "Asia's Largest Atoll-like Reef". Website:
  12. Palaui Island, Cagayan - located off the northeastern extremity of Luzon. The northern point of the island is called Cape Engaño where the ruins of Cape Engaño Lighthouse is located. Engaño Cove or Siwangag Cove is a small cove southwest of the lighthouse where supplies for the station were previously landed. There is a trail and a 229-step concrete stairway from the cove leading to the lighthouse. Camping is allowed within the vicinity of the lighthouse. The competitive US TV reality show Survivor , filmed its 27th season in Palaui Island. Cagayan is dubbed as "Smiling Land of Beauty". Website: and

No comments: