Tuesday, July 15, 2014

15 July 2014 27th Anniversary of CAR

Last year, as public servants, we were required to participate in the 26th foundation anniversary of the Cordillera Administrative Region. We even participated in a parade and marched up to the gym of Saint Louis University. We also had a mass held in the same university with participants from our agency designated as choir during the mass.

Below are some tidbits regarding the Cordillera Administrative Region.

  1. Proclamation No. 795 declared Tuesday, 15 July 2014 as a Special (Non-Working Day) in the Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR) which Executive Secretary Paquito Ochoa Jr. signed in behalf of President Benigno Aquino III last 11 June 2014 to commemorate 27th foundation anniversary of the Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR).
  2. The theme for 2014 is “Boosting the Economic Competitiveness of the Cordilleras for ASEAN 2015”.
  3. On 18 June 1966, Republic Act No. 4695 (originally, House Bill No. 4600 which was filed by Congressman Alfredo G. Lam-en in 1963, co-authored by Congressman Luis Hora. House Bill No. 1526 was filed on March 1, 1966 under the joint sponsorship of Congressman Duyan, Congressman Cosalan and Congressman Hora) was enacted to split Mountain Province and create four separate and independent provinces namely Benguet, Ifugao, Kalinga-Apayao, and Mountain Province. 
  4. Historically, on 13 September 1986, former President Corazon Aquino met with the representatives of the Cordillera Bodong Administration and the Cordillera People's Liberation Army, presided over the alasiw (exchange of peace tokens) to signify the sipat (cessation of hostilities), and acknowledged their aspirations for Cordillera autonomy.
  5. The revolutionary Marxist priest, Conrado Balweg, who fought for the rights of the Cordillera tribes, began his crusade in Abra and after successfully negotiating a peace accord with Balweg's group in 1987, the Philippine government created the Cordillera Administrative Region, with the creation and signing of Executive Order No. 220 on 15 July 1987 by former President Corazon Aquino.
  6. As per Section 2 of Executive Order No. 220, the territorial coverage shall consist of the provinces of Abra, Benguet, Ifugao, Kalinga-Apayao and Mountain Province and the chartered city of Baguio and the regional center of the CAR shall be Baguio City.
  7. Prior to the formal creation of Cordillera Administrative Region, as a consequence of the constitutional mandate under the 1987 Philippine Constitution, Ifugao and Kalinga-Apayao was loosely under Cagayan Valley while Benguet and Mountain Province was grouped under Ilocos Region.
  8. On 14 February 1995, Kalinga-Apayao, one of the five provinces of the region was split into two separate and independent provinces of Apayao and Kalinga with the enactment of Republic Act No. 7878 (bill authored by Congressman Elias K. Bulut Sr.) which amended the previous Republic Act No. 4695. Its boundaries were called the "great profile" due to the resemblance to the head of former President and strongman Ferdinand Marcos, who approved the province's formation.
  9. After 27 years, for the first time, the commemoration is held outside Baguio City with Abra as the host for 2014.
  10. Also for the first time, exhibits will feature enterprises that maximized technology in product development, said Department of Science and Technology Regional Director Julius Ceasar Sicat who is also the chairman of the Regional Development Council Sectoral Committee on Economic Development.
  11. A Unity Gong Relay which has become part of the Cordillera Month celebration since 2012 began in Abra on 9 July, brought to Baguio City on 10 July, in Mountain Province on 12 July; in Kalinga on 13 July; in Apayao on 14 July 14, then back to Abra on 15 July.  14, then back to Abra on July 15.
    The Unity Gong is a symbol of unity for the region’s pursuit of regional autonomy and development.
  12. CAR is the Philippine's only land-locked region.
Flag of the Cordillera Administrative Region

No comments: